Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Great Show You Need To See: PLEASE LIKE ME

Today I want to recommend an awesome series from australia that I binge-watched like a crazy addict in maybe 3 days. The series is called PLEASE LIKE ME and it's all about the life of Josh Thomas.

I don't want to annoy you with a long analysis about the show, so here are the 5 TOP REASONS to watch PLEASE LIKE ME:

  1. the writing is just amazing: actor Josh Thomas who also did most episodes has a great, funny, realistic and cool way to deal with subjects such as love, relationships, millenials, family, death, sickness, sexuality and so on. the dialogues are sometimes weird but in a nice weird way which is surprising and also very cute and loveable
  2. the characters are the best: Josh plays himself and his friends in the series are also his best friends in real life (check out the instagram accounts of those people!). so you can imagine the vibe between them is pretty good! for me it was nice to see how the characters "grow up" during the episodes
  3. PLM deals with queer issues: it all starts with the fact, that Josh is realising he is gay (well, or let's say his ex-girlfriend realised that) and he starts meeting boys and having first homosexual experience. in the following episodes he meets alot boys, falls in love, falls out love etc. yes, there is a big sexual aspect in the series but I think it's important to bring these things up and show viewers other aspects of sexuality - even though nowadays homosexuality should be seen as something normal, I guess it is still an issue for some people to deal with
  4. PLM deals with serious issues such as suicide: Josh's mum in the series tries to kill herself by taking to much pills. Rose suffers from bipolar disorder which is also an issue that should be normal to talk about. she has to live in a clinic/rehab for some time where she meets other people like her and she also finds friends. and yes, spoiler alert, it is going to be very sad too...
  5. the theme song will make you dance everytime you hear it - the song is called "I'll be fine" and it plays a very important role for the series because in the entrance of each episode people are singing it or dancing to it. it just gives the whole series this special feeling
well, that's it. I could bring up many more reasons to see PLEASE LIKE ME but you better find out for yourself. You can watch 4 seasons on netflix. Like Josh announced some weeks ago, there will be no 5. season - it is sad, yes, but all the best things have to come to an end eventually :)

Wednesday, November 2, 2016

New music from Berlin: GURR - Riot Girls from the german capital

Really cool female punk band based in Berlin that I saw live some months ago. Current album is called "In My Head" and it's super catchy, full of good vibes and powerful. I love the opening song "Breathless" - listen to it! Their album is available on Spotify:

 more info: https://gurrband.bandcamp.com/

Friday, May 20, 2016

Great Show You Need To See: THE CHRIS GETHARD SHOW

Today i wanna introduce an american TV-show that I'm loving alot right now. I found out about it on Youtube because I was checking some BROAD CITY stuff (also a great show!!!) and I randomly saw this great TV-show: THE CHRIS GETHARD SHOW.

Here some reasons why I think it's a must-see:

1. It's a really anti-mainstream show with a quite nerdy, freaky audience
2. at the end of every episode there is a live music band, most of them are pretty good (just to name some examples: Downtown Boys, The Front Bottoms, Screaming Females)
3. the host of the show is Chris Gethard who is a real funny, normal guy
4. the show band is called The LLC and I like them alot (the singer is Chris' wife)
5. the guests of the show who are invited are mostly pretty good comedians, actors etc.
6. TCGS is produced by Zach Galifianakis and Will Ferrell
7. the whole show is really open-minded, tolerant, punk and DIYish
8. the subjects in the show are really "taken out of life" (depression, family, weird body stuff), also people can call in via skype and talk about their stuff/problems/feelings
9. the characters of the show are awesome (The Human Fish, Murf, Chris' brother etc)

Okay, enough said, now you should really watch it. here are some episodes I recommend. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do:

+++ +++ +++

Wednesday, April 13, 2016

Riot Grrrl Movement Is Back - And This Are Some Bands!

Yes, the 90's were great - thanks to awesome bands like Bikini Kill, Le Tigre, Sleater-Kinney and many more who kicked the asses of the male dominated punkrock music scene.
But we also have to face the great present bands who definitely represent the modern Riot-Girl-Movement of the 21st century. I am always more than happy to find out about a "new" female fronted band that I never heard before. I wanna present you some of the bands I like alot:

Downtown Boys
the band from Providence was titled "America's Most Exciting Punk Band" by the Rolling Stone

To my surprise they play in Berlin soon: 25.05.2016 Berlin, DE - Bei Ruth 

Sheer Mag
the band from Philadelphia plays 70's stylish rock and punk music which has alot rhythm!

Sheer Mag played a show in Berlin some months ago in a self-governing punk location.

a feminist pop punk band from Seattle who got great catchy songs!

Tacocat played some months ago in Berlin at Schokoladen and it was super fun.

Jawbreaker Reunion
three-piece-band from New York plays wonderful poppunk music. I really love their song "Tearing Down Posters"

So I know these bands are not really "new" and I did not discover them (of course not!) but I just had the feeling to put them kinda together to show what a great new wave of female bands we have nowadays! If you miss a good band that I should know, feel free to post a comment below! Thanks :)

Saturday, March 19, 2016

PUP - new songs and concert in berlin

Yes, PUP will come again and this makes me really happy because this time I can go with my beloved Jordi. Last time he could not join so I let the band sign the debut record for him. And yes, he was happy about that! :)

Anyway, the great great punk band will be here in exactly one month! (19.4.2016)
The show will be at Cassiopeia and the support band is also a big highlight for us: MODERN BASEBALL!!! It's gonna be soo great!

Album-Stream: The Thermals - "We Disappear" & Interview-Reminder

One of my all-time-favorite bands THE THERMALS got a new record - it will be out 25th march.

and also some songs here: https://soundcloud.com/saddlecreek

Until may 2016 the band will tour in the US, but probably they'll come to europe and germany soon to present their new record. I've already seen them once in Berlin @ Bi Nuu and it was really amazing. Great band!

In addition to that I remind you of my interview with Kathy of The Thermals that I did via mail in 2013 before their berlin show: 

Wednesday, February 17, 2016


Best news of today: One of my fav bands is coming to Berlin this summer. Im talking about ROYAL HEADACHE from Sydney.
As the band posted today on Facebook they start their first european tour in may 2016. HERE is the official poster:

Im glad Berlin is on the list too because RH is on my "concert-wishlist" for a long time.

(not really a big place, you better get tickets before it's sold out)